School Governors

Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the school’s governors, and the work that they do.

Governors’ main role is to support the Head Teacher and the staff. We help them to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life. The two key documents used for this are the School Development Plan (SDP) and the Self Evaluation Form (SEF). The SDP sets out a year strategic plan for the school, with targets that everyone works towards and the SEF sets out how well the school is doing and where we aim to make improvements.

Our legal duties include:-

  • setting strategic direction, policies and objectives
  • approving the school budget
  • reviewing progress against the school’s budget and objectives
  • appointing, challenging and supporting the Head Teacher

There is a full Governing Body meeting once a term as well as a Finance and Premises Committee meetings. All governors are informed about what happens at these the Finance and Premises meetings.

There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school. These are Foundation Governors appointed by the Diocese, the Local Authority (“LA”) Governor, Parent Governors, and a Staff Governor. All governors have equal status, however they are appointed.

We are committed to providing an excellent environment for all pupils to enjoy during their time at our school.

The Governing Body members also attend training sessions and seminars to help keep them up to date with changes in schools and education and to help them do their job effectively. Governors also go into school to meet with the Head Teacher, other members of staff and pupils to help them find out how the school is progressing towards its targets.

If you wish to know more, or are interested in becoming a governor, please contact Mrs N Sisarello or Mrs J Walls (Joint Chair of Governors).  They can be contacted via email at the following address;

A complete list of our governors and their roles can be found below.





Category of Governor

Appointed by

Date appointed

Date term concludes

Attendance 2015/16

Full G.B Committees

Declaration of Interests

Special Notes

Mr Kenneth Butt Foundation RC Diocese of Southwark 01.09.2014 31.08.2018  6/6 None Maths Governor
Fr Anthony Fernandes Foundation RC Diocese of Southwark 03.02.2017 02.02.2021 None
Mrs Natasia Sisarello Foundation RC Diocese of Southwark 01.09.2015 31.08.2019  2/3 None Joint Chair of Governors / Pupil Premium Governor
Mrs Jeannie Walls Foundation RC Diocese of Southwark 13.06.2016 12.06.2020  1/3 None Joint Chair of Governors / Child Protection/Safeguarding Governor
Mr Charles Ameyaw Foundation RC Diocese of Southwark 06.01.2016 05.01.2020  2/2 None Health & Safety Governor / Computing Governor
Mr Stephen Ashcroft Foundation RC Diocese of Southwark 06.04.2016 05.04.2020 Wife on Board of Directors of M.U.I.C.O.F Oddfellows – voluntary unpaid position. English Governor
Mrs Lianne McGrath Parent Elected by parents 19.11.2015 19.11.2019  1/1 Self-employed childminder of children attending St Mark’s School. ICT Governor / RE Governor
Miss Abishika Kasipillai Local Authority Governing Body on recommendation of the Local Authority 17.11.2016 21.03.2017  2/3
Mrs Denise Scanlon Staff Election by staff 02.12.2013 01.12.2017 None Special Educational Needs Governor
Mr David Feasey Headteacher Ex officio —-  7/7 None

Note:  All appointments are for a four-year term

Committee Membership 2016 – 17

Standards Committee

Mrs J Walls (Chair)               Mr D Feasey       Mrs L McGrath

Mrs N Sisarello             Mr C Ameyaw      Mr K Butt

Mr S Ashcroft               Mrs D Scanlon

The Standards Committee is responsible for ensuring that the curriculum in the school follows that legally required and is also responsible for ensuring that educational standards in the school are relentlessly raised.  It does this by regularly considering the achievement and progress of groups of pupils in the school and challenging the Headteacher on these.  The Standards Committee is also responsible for ensuring that disadvantaged pupils and those with special needs are adequately supported so as to achieve and progress as well as the other children in the class.

Personnel & Finance Committee

Mr K Butt (Chair)      Mr D Feasey

Mrs N Sisarello (Vice Chair)          Mr C Ameyaw

Mrs C Russell (School Business Manager) – to attend

The Personnel and Finance Committee has responsibility for the provision of guidance and assistance to the Headteacher and the Governing Body in all matters relating to budgeting and finance, and to clearly define financial responsibilities.  This committee ensures that an annual budget is drawn up and presented to the Governing Body and that the income and expenditure during the year is monitored against this budget.

Staffing expenditure is a major constituent of the budget and this committee also ensures that staff appraisal takes place and that remuneration of all staff is in accordance with the school’s Pay Policy.

Premises Committee

Mr S Ashcroft (Chair)        Mr D Feasey          Mrs L McGrath

Mr K Butt      Mr J Sammut (co-opted)

The Premises Committee has the responsibility to advise the Governing Body and the Headteacher on all matters relating to the development and repair of the premises. The committee also advises the Governing Body on all matters relating to the purchasing of services, e.g. cleaning, ground maintenance, school meals.

The Premises Committee is also responsible for advising the Governing Body and the Headteacher on all matters relating to Health and Safety and for ensuring compliance with the school’s Health and Safety Policy.

Admissions Committee

Mrs L McGrath (Chair)      Mr D Feasey         Mrs D Scanlon

The Admissions Committee is responsible for determining within statutory provisions and the Governing Body’s Admission Policy whether any child should be admitted to the school.  The Admissions Committee is also responsible for reviewing the school’s Admission Policy and making any recommendations for change to the Governing Body.  It also appoints a committee member to represent the school in any appeal against the refusal of a place at the school.

Pupil Discipline Committee

Mr K Butt (Chair)         Mrs N Sisarello        Mrs J Walls

The Pupil Discipline Committee is responsible for considering the appropriateness of any permanent exclusion or any exclusion where one or more fixed period exclusions total more than 15 school days in one term.  In the case of other period exclusions, the committee will meet to consider any representation from parents of an excluded child.  The Pupil Discipline Committee does not have the power to re-instate a pupil who is excluded.

Headteacher’s Performance Management Committee

Mrs N Sisarello (Chair)       Mrs J Walls       Vacancy

This committee undertakes the statutory annual performance review of the Headteacher and sets performance targets for the Headteacher for the following year.

Governors Year 2015 – 2016

Governors Year 2014 – 2015